Staff & Board of Trustees

Our Staff

The Nature Center employs more than 25 full-time, part-time and seasonal staff who are dedicated professionals. Approximately one-third attend to the administration of the Nature Center and two-thirds to the educational programs.

Our educators come from diverse backgrounds; many hold Masters degrees and all have extensive experience in the environmental education profession. Our teachers believe in the benefits of an interactive learning environment. We are dedicated to providing programs that include experiences involving interactive, hands-on lessons in a comfortable learning atmosphere. We strive to deliver programs that meet the needs of mixed audiences.

Name Administrative Staff Extension
Michelle Ernst Part time Accounting Support 13
Laura Heckman Executive Director 19
Kevin Kelly Director of Finance & Business Operations 23
Boardie Kurz Director of Marketing & Development 50
Jose Maldonado Facilities & Grounds Manager 14
Jennifer Rayher Director of Membership & Volunteers 64
Name Education Staff Extension
Jacque Bazelow Animal Care Assistant &
Environmental Educator
Marianne Dec Program Administrator, Registrar &
Facility Rental Coordinator
Bill Flynn Animal Care Manager &
Environmental Educator
Chris Hendershot School Program Manager &
Lead Environmental Educator
Derick Hips Lead Environmental Educator &
Birthday Coordinator
Geoff McCann Education Program Director &
Summer Camp Director
Chris Madden Visitors Center Naturalist 10
Michelle Piazza Visitor Experience Manager &
Environmental Educator
Name Early Childhood Staff Extension
Christine Dinella Preschool Teacher
Judy Gilroy Mommy, Me & Nature Teacher
Margaret Hughes Preschool Teacher  
Amanda Joy Preschool Teacher  
Marianne Kay Preschool Director 16
Kate McCormack Preschool Teacher  
Claudia Murphy Preschool Teacher  
Meredith Staud Preschool Teacher
Lacey Tallman Preschool Teacher  
Anna Zielenski Assistant Preschool Director &
Summer Camp Field Director

Board of Trustees

The administration of the New Canaan Nature Center is overseen by a Board of Trustees, the members of which are drawn from both the Town of New Canaan and surrounding communities.

Board of Trustees / 2013-2014

Linda Andros, Vice President
Jennifer Barnard
Kristin Barnard
Richard Bergmann
Amy Carpi
Laurence H. (Jake) Goodyear
G. Warfield (Skip) Hobbs, IV, President
Muffy Lewis, Secretary
Pamela Pagnani
Peggy Toce
Van G. Young
Priscilla Woyke
Ellen Zumbach

Ex Officio
Rob Malozzi, First Selectman
Kit Devereaux, Liaison Town Council